VISA information

Budapest Things to do – Going out in Budapest

You will find detailed information to plan your stay in Budapest: sightseeing, events, restaurants, nightlife, shopping, pubs, bars, casinos.
Local date and time:05/06/2020 | 22:58  (GMT+1)
VISA Information

VISA Information

The Schengen agreement was signed in 1985 by Belgium, Germany, France, Luxembourg and the Netherlands to enable people to travel freely within its member states. Since then the zone expanded to 24 countries. This means the cessation of border control between Hungary and Austria, Slovenia and Slovakia, and stricter border control and visa regulations on the new Schengen borders with Serbia, Croatia, Romania and the Ukraine. Hungary is now responsible for 15% of the borders of the zone in Eastern Europe.


Passport, visa


Entry with personal ID card

Citizens of the following countries may enter the territory of Hungary with a personal identification card for a stay of maximum 90 days, provided the purpose of their visit is not to take up work or to conduct business-related activities: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland.


Entry with passport, but no visa required

Citizens of European countries (with the exception of Albania, Russia, Serbia-Montenegro, Turkey and the Ukraine) do not require a visa to enter Hungary. Citizens of the following countries outside Europe similarly do not require a visa: Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Republic of Korea, Macao, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay,

Salvador, Singapore, USA, Uruguay, Venezuela. For detailed information in English please visit